top of page

The #1 Thing To Do to Finally Achieve Your Goals


What if I told you that the reason you haven’t been reaching your goals is because you’ve been setting them all wrong? No, I’m not talking about making sure you set “SMART” goals (I always hated those exercises in school!).

Instead, I’m talking about the importance of focusing on the WHY instead of the WHAT.

I first heard about this revolutionary goal-setting idea from Simon Sinek’s TED talk (totally worth a listen and you can get it here), and it really made me think. Could I possibly be approaching my goals from the wrong direction? Would it really make a difference?

Yes. Yes it would.

Over the past few years, I've set goals very differently for myself. Instead of identifying WHAT I wanted to achieve (the end result), and how I would get there (the action steps), I’ve started with a focus on how I want to ultimately feel, and then equally importantly, WHY I want to feel that way.

For example, one of my biggest focuses over the past year or so has been to “get into better shape.” But that was an old goal-setting-method goal. Once I thought about it more, I realized that I didn’t just want to be in better shape. That alone was not motivating or inspirational. Instead, I realized that I want to feel more confident, strong, and energized. I want to make sure that my physical body never limits what I can do with my son (if I want to run around with him all day in the yard, I don’t want to be out of breath and tired after the first 15 minutes!).

When I identified those feelings, and that WHY, I was instantly motivated. I wanted to get up and go for a run right then and there. I was ready to feel that way and have that coveted confidence and energy. Since then, I've set the wheels into motion to make those feelings and that WHY a reality in my life.

Changing the way that I set my goals has made a WORLD of difference in my life, and I want you to take advantage of this too.

So right now, take a minute to think of one of your current goals.

  • Write it down in the manner you initially thought of it (likely in the “end results” manner).

  • Next, think about how you ultimately want to feel, or how it will feel once you achieve this goal (be as specific as possible here!).

  • Lastly, focus on your WHY. What are those deep down drivers that spark the fire in your heart about WHY you want to achieve this goal?

  • Share the before and after of your goal with us in the comments below!

If you’re having trouble with this new goal-setting mentality and need some help, share below and I’ll help you get there. Or, if you’ve been setting your goals in this “new” way already, I’d love to hear how it has helped in getting you to where you want to be.

Amazing progress is about to be made towards your “WHY” and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

With Smiles,

Kim

Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn App Icon

Join my mailing list for FREE monthly health tips!

bottom of page