top of page

Thought Tweak of the Week: Banish the Idea of "Get Your Body Back"


As I’ve been fine-tuning my bio and my “story” lately, I’ve realized that so many major positive changes that I’ve made in my life have been the result of just a minor sentiment, or a small tweak in the way that I thought about something. I’ve written about the power of positive thinking in the past, and know from much experience that spinning something positive can really change the trajectory of your day, week, and life! Because of the amazing power and impact that I believe making small shifts in your thoughts or actions can have, I have decided to start a series called: Thought Tweak of the Week. For this series, I’m going to share my suggestions for a small twist to the usual way you may think of things, and ask you to give it a try if it’s something that resonates with you. My perspective is that if you’ve been struggling with something, or a part of your life isn’t exactly how you’d like it to be, then there’s something in your current approach or thought process that isn’t working out for you. So, why not try approaching it from a slightly different angle to see if you can wield a better result? Without further adieu, this week’s Thought Tweak: Forget about the concept of “getting your body back” after having a baby. You conceived, nurtured, and birthed a child with that amazing body of yours! And then you likely fed that adorable sweet baby from your amazing body for several months afterwards. Due to that year (or more) of body-changing events, your body will never be the same as it was pre-baby. But guess what? Your life is never going to be the same as it was pre-baby either. How come nobody is pushing postnatal moms to get their pre-baby life back? Probably because they assume you love your new, albeit changed, life. So why can’t you also love your new, albeit changed, body? Contrary to what most of society leads you to believe, your body not being the same as it was pre-baby is NOT a bad thing. You may even find that your postnatal body can be even more amazing than it once was! And regardless of what your current size and shape is, you now know the amazing abilities that your body has, and what it has been through. Therefore, instead of being frustrated with your post-baby body, now is the time to recognize it and appreciate it for all that it has brought you over the past few years. Now it's time to take action: I’d love to hear what you think about this week’s Thought Tweak. Share with me in the comments below! Did this Thought Tweak hit home for you? Why or why not? If this Thought Tweak resonated for you and you’d like to hear more similar ideas and suggestions, I'd love for you to check out my “Loving Your Changing Body” workshop that I’m facilitating in North Andover, MA at Acelleron Maternal Health & Wellness on Sept. 29th. You can register at this link and I would be so glad to have you join us! With Smiles,

Kim P.S. If you’re not a Mom, but you have someone in your life that you think this topic would be relevant for, please share this blog post with them!

Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn App Icon

Join my mailing list for FREE monthly health tips!

bottom of page