top of page

Life Lessons Learned Through Motherhood (That Can Help Everyone)


My journey into Motherhood has taught me so much more than I ever imagined or expected. In addition to learning a myriad of details about babies, toddlers, my husband and myself, I’ve also gained an entirely new perspective on LIFE as a whole. I’ve also realized that the many new “life lessons” I’ve learned over the past couple of years are applicable to everyone at every phase of their lives; not just new moms and dads.

One of the top life lessons I’ve learned is…

The times in your life when taking care of yourself is hardest to do (and seems impossible) are actually the times when you need to be doing it the most! (Tweet It!)

I think we’ve all been there; it’s a particularly busy and stressful time in your life. Maybe you have a big business deadline around the corner that you’ve been working day and night for, or your family has all fallen ill to the latest school virus and you’ve been playing nurse 24/7. You’re at wits end, exhausted, and it seems like you can barely even pick up the phone to order take-out and then crawl into bed.

But you’re feeling so depleted, not just because you’ve been so busy and overworked: it’s because you’re literally running on EMPTY. You’ve been giving, giving, giving and not spending any time or focus on yourself and what YOU may need amongst the chaos. You haven’t been giving your mind or body a chance to refuel, recharge, and reboot; you’ve just run the battery dead.

To be at your optimal, best, most energized state for anyone or anything else in your life, you need to be caring for yourself FIRST. And when your surrounding environment is so demanding, don’t you need the best possible version of yourself to be showing up for the job?!?

When you take the time to make sure that your core needs are met, then you’re that much more ready to take on the world at the fast, efficient pace that is being required of you.

Now I know that these core needs are different for everyone! For me, it’s getting a lot of rest, spending time with my family, feeding myself wholesome, fresh foods and fitting in some exercise. Regardless, it’s time to start remembering the importance of taking care of YOU and putting that into action! No more working at a snail’s pace because you’re on empty!

Here’s your action item: Make a list of what you know you need to feel your absolute best. Then, take at least one thing on that list and make sure that need is met today, and see how you feel afterwards! Share your list with me in the comments below, or share the action item that you’ve decided to put in place today. I can’t wait to cheer you on towards a much more productive, powerful day!

With smiles,

Kim

P.S. If you’re pregnant (or a relatively new mom), then now is the PERFECT time to start making some time for yourself and caring for yourself. I’ve got the perfect place to do just that: Come join my “Loving Your Changing Body” workshop on 9/29 at Acelleron Maternal Health & Wellness! You can find out more HERE. It’ll be the perfect night for you to take some time and focus on yourself and your needs, with other women supporting you along the way!

Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn App Icon

Join my mailing list for FREE monthly health tips!

bottom of page